On Hollywood Road

“I Love You Porgy”

Posted in Uncategorized by Alex Daye on February 26, 2010

It’s not often I’m moved to do a second blog post in a day, but I felt I needed to share this beautiful video of Nina Simone singing “I Love You Porgy” from 1962. Last night I attended a concert as part of the Hong Kong Arts Festival that was a tribute to Nina Simone with Patti Austin, Dianne Reeves, Lizz Wright and Simone, Nina’s daughter singing some of her better known songs. I’m a big fan of Nina Simone and we often play her albums at Moustache, but seeing her songs performed live was a revelation- especially by Dianne Reeves who deserves her own blog post. I must have listened to “I Love You Porgy” hundreds of times now, but when I came home last night and watched Nina Simone’s 1962 performance on YouTube it was like hearing it for the first time, and I’m not ashamed to say that I was in tears at the end of it. Here it is.

Leave a Reply

